Saysay Himig: A Sourcebook On Philippine Music History 1880-1914 Book


Editor: Tan, Arwin Q.    


Saysay Himig is an anthology of 50 short essays that narrate the musical stories of the Filipinos from the time when the intellectual culture began to thrive and articulate the emerging sense of nationhood in the 1880s to the start of the Japanese occupation in 1941.


The essays trace the development of transcultural Philippine music and musical practices, and they provide an alternative assessment of our nation’s history, focusing on the production and circulation of cultural nationalist discourses of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.


The book has 30 contributing authors and consists of 50 chapters. 

C.2018, 446pp, 7x10 / UPP

00:00 / 00:00


The World's Filipino Store

Over 20 YEARS Online